Timelapse

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
AndyS40

AndyS40

22 Aug 2012
Staffordshire (UK)
www.flickr.com
Hi all
Been having a good old play with Timelapse on my Nikon and I like the brief results that ive been getting
I'm a total Noob at this not only that but using Premiere elemnts 12 to make the video as well so go easy on me :joker:
Hope you like it for a first attempt

[video=youtube;bgcp88IAuYk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgcp88IAuYk[/video]

Frankly, I really enjoyed watching this beautiful time-lapse video; even the music chosen is an excellent match for the footage.

Thank you, Andy, please keep the videos coming. :)

Andy, as early attempts they are really good. There is something fascinating about watching clouds like that as you can see them build and change in ways that you don't notice even when you just sit and watch them. Looking forward to seeing some more of these as it is always a great way to "waste" a few minutes. Thanks for sharing.

My only thought is that if you are using an DSLR you need to be aware of the number of times that the mirror action fires and can wear out pretty quick. If the mirror gets locked up during the sequence then it should be fine. My GoPro 4 has a timelapse video mode where you can set the interval and you end up with a video at the end. On the 3 you just get hundreds (thousands sometimes) of images that you have to stitch together. I prefer having the individual images as you can then weed out some duff ones and also batch change them for colour balance and crop in Lightroom before creating the video.

One advantage of using a small camera is that you can mount it on an egg timer (IKEA do one with a really nice flat top - pic below) so in addition to the timelapse you can get a slight change of view too.